Shana O. Kelley, Ph.D.

President, CZ Biohub Chicago

Shana Kelley is the Neena B. Schwartz Professor at Northwestern in the Departments of Chemistry, Biomedical Engineering, and Biochemistry & Molecular Genetics. The Kelley research group works in a variety of areas spanning bio analytical technology development and has pioneered new methods for tracking molecular and cellular analytes with unprecedented sensitivity. Kelley’s work has been recognized with the ACS Inorganic Nanoscience Award, the ACS Arthur Doolittle Award, the Pittsburgh Conference Achievement Award, the Steacie Prize, an Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship, a Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar award, a NSF CAREER Award, and a Dreyfus New Faculty Award. She was also named a “Top 100 Innovator” by MIT’s Technology Review.

Kelley is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a Guggenheim Fellow, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences, and the American Institute of Biological and Medical Engineering. Kelley is an inventor on over 50 patents issued worldwide and a successful entrepreneur. She is a founder of four molecular diagnostics companies, GeneOhm Sciences (acquired by Becton Dickinson in 2005), Xagenic Inc. (acquired by General Atomics in 2017), CTRL Therapeutics (founded in 2019), and Arma Biosciences (founded in 2021). She is an Associate Editor for ACS Sensors, and an Editorial Advisory Board Member for the Journal of the American Chemical Society, Nano Letters, and ACS Nano. Kelley was a member of the Executive Leadership team for Medicine by Design, a $114 million multidisciplinary, multi-institutional initiative focused on engineering approaches to regenerative medicine, and was a theme leader for the Nanomedicine Innovation Network, a government-funded effort to unite nanotechnology-focused researchers across Canada. She was also the founder and Director of PRiME, which was launched at the University of Toronto to unite the life sciences, engineering, and clinical communities.

Photo of Shana O. Kelley, Ph.D.

Scientific Advisory Board