eyebrow background eyebrow close

Chan Zuckerberg Biohub
5th Anniversary

Learn more about our first five years of innovation and discovery, and watch highlights from our scientific symposium, featuring keynotes from NIH Director Francis Collins and others.

Learn More
eyebrow badge

Applications closed. Learn more

Fellowships & Competitions

Investigator Competition 2021

Building a cross-disciplinary, inspiring scientific community and supporting early-stage, high-risk research.

The call for applications is now closed. We expect to announce final award decisions by January 15, 2022. The original call for applications and competition FAQ are available below.

We are pleased to announce a call for applications to select the next cohort of Chan Zuckerberg Biohub Investigators. Successful applicants will receive $1 million in unrestricted gift funds over a nonrenewable 5-year term ($200,000 per year). The deadline for receipt of applications is Friday, May 14, 2021. We expect to announce award recipients by January 15, 2022, and plan to start awards on March 1, 2022.

Please note that the current deadline for receipt of applications, May 14, 2021, is an extension from the original deadline of April 1. We learned that many faculty who were eager to apply for a Chan Zuckerberg Biohub Investigator Award were unable to do so by the original deadline. CZ Biohub is fully aware that the pandemic has imposed unprecedented demands on faculty and their families, and many people are feeling exhausted and overwhelmed. We consequently extended the deadline, and strongly encourage all interested and eligible faculty to apply.

For those who have already submitted an application, you are welcome to resume or revise if you wish. Please email us at investigatorcompetition2021@czbiohub.org to have your application reopened for editing.

Read the full announcement about the deadline change here.


Applications for Chan Zuckerberg Biohub Investigator Awards are open to faculty members from Stanford University, UCSF, and UC Berkeley who are eligible to serve as a principal investigator for federal and other grants (for more information on the PI eligibility requirement, click here).

We welcome applications from faculty members representing diverse disciplines such as engineering, computer science, mathematics and statistics, the physical sciences, chemistry, clinical and biomedical sciences, public health, and the biological sciences. The scope of investigator research is open to all areas of biology, biomedical research, and technology development, including areas that are well outside the scope of CZ Biohub’s intramural research programs.

CZ Biohub strongly encourages faculty who are at an early stage of their career and faculty from groups underrepresented in science, engineering, and the clinical sciences to apply. CZ Biohub has strived to assemble a highly diverse group of external reviewers to support the review process. Applications from assistant professors will be considered separately from those of associate and full professors.


Chan Zuckerberg Biohub (CZ Biohub) is an independent, nonprofit medical research organization that was established in 2016 with the goals of understanding the mechanisms underlying disease and developing new technologies that will enable fresh avenues of scientific discovery and lead to actionable diagnostics and effective therapies. CZ Biohub was conceived and launched in partnership with Stanford University, UC San Francisco, and UC Berkeley to promote close collaboration across the three campuses in pursuit of this mission. CZ Biohub has an intramural research program focused on technology development, cell biology, and infectious disease, and an extramural research program – anchored by the Chan Zuckerberg Biohub Investigator Program – that provides unrestricted funds to faculty members at all three campuses to pursue their most exciting, risky, and innovative ideas.


A foundational goal of the Chan Zuckerberg Biohub Investigator Program is to build and sustain an engaged, interactive, and collaborative community of researchers that spans across disciplines and across the campuses of our three partner universities, Stanford University, UCSF, and UC Berkeley.

The backbone of our community and a primary engine of collaboration is found in the CZ Biohub Investigator meetings. CZ Biohub Investigators are expected to participate fully in the CZ Biohub community by attending at least half of the CZ Biohub Investigator meetings that are held every two weeks.

With the goal of accelerating the pace of scientific discovery, CZ Biohub Investigators are required to upload all manuscripts on which they are a corresponding author to a preprint server such as bioRxiv.org or arXiv.org upon submission to a peer-reviewed journal. Intellectual property generated with material support from CZ Biohub funding or resources will be jointly owned with the universities; inventor royalty sharing will not be affected and licensing will be led by CZ Biohub with university approval and in direct consultation with the Investigator.


To begin the application process, please visit: https://czbh.smapply.org. The first part of the application is an eligibility test to ensure the applicant meets the basic criteria to apply.

Applicants will be asked to provide the following information and materials:

  • Contact and personal information.
  • Institution and faculty appointment information.
  • Indicate one or two categories that best characterize your proposed research area:
    • Clinical Sciences and Public Health
    • Basic Biomedical Sciences
    • Chemistry, Physics, and Engineering
    • Computer and Data Sciences, Mathematics, and Statistics.
  • One-page CV including the following information: name, current position, employment history / positions held / professional experience, education / training, selected awards and fellowships. Please note that there is no need to include selected publications on the CV, since a 1-page bibliography of major papers is requested as a separate item in the application materials).
  • Title and summary of proposed research (120 words).
  • Description of the risky and innovative research you wish to pursue (3-page limit, including figures and cited references).
  • Bibliography of major papers (1 page).
  • Single paragraph summary for each of your three most significant papers (1 page).
  • PDFs of your three most significant papers.

In addition, faculty members who are not members of the Academic Senate or Academic Council at their respective institutions will be asked to submit a statement of support from their division or department chair confirming the applicant has the space, resources, and support necessary for the proposed research program. The signed statement of support must be uploaded with the rest of the application materials by the application deadline.

Applications should be submitted online at: https://czbh.smapply.org/

Completed applications are due by 11:59 pm PDT on May 14, 2021.

We strongly encourage you to review the competition FAQ as you are preparing your application.


We expect to announce award recipients by January 15, 2022, and plan to start awards on March 1, 2022.



Access frequently asked questions about the CZ Biohub Investigator Competition. 

FAQ last updated: 4/1/21


Contact Roger Nys, Chan Zuckerberg Biohub Investigator Competition Program Officer, at investigatorcompetition2021@czbiohub.org